Our Financial Goal – I

We all have heard of the stories on how writing down your goals may help you achieve them. I don’t know if it’s true for others, but for someone forgetful like me, you bet it’s going to help. Our immediate goal is to have enough income to relieve Jacqui from her job. And you know who is going to earn that income right? Probably not our future kids.

I am now in the job market for my first real job. I am good at math and coding and can try my luck in the financial industry. However, I really feel that my life is too short to waste in the quant’s position. I believe in doing things I love. If I’m really good, money (not necessarily big money) will come, or I should be able to make a living.

That being said, I am now probably interested in too many career paths: entrepreneur, university professor, consulting, research scientist, and so on. I am interested in the quant job even, just not its life style. However, all the above are meaningless without a happy Jacqui. I want to have enough time at home to be with her, while at the same time, bring home enough income (good pay). Does such a job exist, with good pay and allowing a good life style?

If not, I probably will accept a lower pay, since both Jacqui and I are pretty frugal. More importantly, move to an inexpensive area and enjoy our life.